Rocky’s Translator: Say Wah?

OK, a buddy of mine forwarded me a request from another buddy of mine that asked the accuracy of translation of Rocky’s speech in Rocky IV.  Specifically: "How accurate is the translation? Does the translator take any liberties?"

Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1KCJNBQBdOY

Well, I decided to help him out and translate the translation.  Hilarity ensued:

Rocky: I came here tonight.  I didn’t know what to expect.

Translator: When I walked out tonight onto this rink

Rocky: I seen a lot of people hatin me and I didn’t know what to feel about that so I guess I didn’t like you much none either.

Translator: I thought that I didn’t love them either.

Rocky: During this fight I’ve seen a lot of changing.

Translator: During this fight, I understood that a lot has changed.

Rocky: the way you felt about me and I felt about you.

Translator: And I felt that you also have changed.

Rocky: in here there were two guys shoving each other but I guess that’s better than 20 million.

Translator: I think this is better than even 20 million dollars.

Rocky: what I am trying to say is if I can change

Translator: I think that every person should change (muffled a bit – not sure)

Rocky: and you can change

Translator: and you can change

Rocky: everybody can change!

Translator: everyone can change!

<cheering>

Rocky: Excuse me!

Translator: I want to say one more thing!

Rocky: I just wanna say one thing to my kid who should be home sleeping.  Merry Christmas Kid!

Translator: Merry Christmas Buddy!

Rocky: I love you!

Translator: I love you! (the way usually only a man says to a woman…  I think a more accurate translation might even be "I am in love with you" given the gravity of the word love in the Russian language.  Never, ever would have I heard anything even close to this uttered between a father and son…  maybe it’s just me?)

Now, if I may, let’s do full translation without interruptions.  What Rocky said:

I came here tonight.  I didn’t know what to expect. seen a lot of people hatin me and I didn’t know what to feel about that so I guess I didn’t like you much none either. During this fight I’ve seen a lot of changing.  Tway you felt about me and I felt about you. In here there were two guys shoving each other but I guess that’s better than 20 million.  What I am trying to say is if I can change and you can change, everybody can change!  <cheering> Excuse me! I just wanna say one thing to my kid who should be home sleeping.  Merry Christmas Kid!  I love you!

How it was translated:

When I walked out tonight onto this rink, I thought that I didn’t love them either.  During this fight, I understood that a lot has changed. And I felt that you also have changed. I think this is better than even 20 million dollars. I think that every person should change and you can change, everyone can change!  <cheering> I want to say one more thing! Merry Christmas Buddy! I am in love with you!

Now I understand why the cold war took as long as it did…

Nikita’s LJ Tags:

3 Comments

Filed under Humor

3 responses to “Rocky’s Translator: Say Wah?

  1. toby

    Id like to have known what Dragos trainer was screaming over and over from the corner.

  2. Jamie Sleeman

    Two guys KILLING each other.

  3. Khaoe Smith

    I want to know what was the guy saying to everyone in Russian before the Apollo Creed fight right before he yelled out “IVAN!!” and bumped his fists together.

Leave a comment