Mozy Pro – Backup Into the Cloud

Update: Unhappy with Mozy Pro (link).

Service: www.mozy.com

Overall, I am happy with them.  I had a hard-drive crash once, and was able to recover data.  Except for one thing…

The one thing that made me extremely unhappy is the fact that, when you go over quota, it looks like all backup up stops.  So, for example, I had 100GB of data, some of which was critical DB backup.  Then I needed to restore some stuff.  Well, I discovered that the DB files were not backed up because I was over the 100GB limit.  I mean, WTF?  Seriously?  So, because I have some crap that exceeds 100GB to 101GB, you won’t back up my main critical data file for a month?  So I emailed them.  The conversation went something like this (paraphrased):

Me: Here is the problem.  It’s wrong.  Please change it.
Them: Oh, you can turn on feature X that will keep backing up when you are over quota.
Me: Excellent!  Why wasn’t this turned on by default?
Them: Cause this actually turns on automatic increase in quota charging you per-GB
Me: Wait, but I don’t want to be charged…  I just want to make sure that some files have precedence and are always backed up even if I am over quota.
Them: We back up your files!
Me: So you do that?  Wheh.  So are you backing up files when I am over quota?
Them: You can turn on feature X to back up files when you are over quota.
Me: But I don’t want to pay more…
Them: We back up your files!
Me: But you don’t back them up when I am over quota!
Them: You can turn on feature X to back up files when you are over quota.
Me: But I don’t want to pay more…
Them: We back up your files!
Me: I hate you.
Them: Did we solve your problem?  We are concerned.  Please let us know.

Long story short, I have no idea whether they acknowledged the problem or if I hit upon overzealous support that is just as clueless as they are zealous.  Bah.

Anyway, I would strongly recommend the service to anybody who wants to back up into the cloud.  It is sometimes slow and confusing and you sit there waiting for a restore, which might take up to several hours, but it works and, aside from this poor design decision, I don’t have complaints.

3 Comments

Filed under JoVE, Product Reviews, Tech

3 responses to “Mozy Pro – Backup Into the Cloud

  1. Why do you have a quota with Mozy? They offer unlimited backups for home users – unless you’re a business user, then you would have a quota with MozyPro. Any reason you’re not using MozyHome?

Leave a Reply

