Diary: what can I say…

All wear bowlers is ridiculously interesting…

But what followed… ai… let’s just say that sad and unhorsed I am sitting at my apartment without the least desire to see anyone except for the one who had no choice, but to engage in the aforementioned de-horsing process. As a result, Iwas once again reminded that:

1. All people are different.
2. I know many different types and will make no excuses.
3. Of the myriad of people around us, so few are intuitively close.

May be it is just late and I am just tired. Or may be in The Unbearable Lightness of being, I’ve been too harsh on Sabina… I hope it’s fatigue…

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Diary: what can I say…

  1. You’ve been too harsh on Sabina? Was it her urge to run from people and consequences, or were there other qualities that didn’t sit well with you?

    • Nah, it was her “I prefer Russian-style oppressive communism to the American white-picket fence cliche”, which made me think of Kundera as a great emotional writer, but not the intelligent man of wisdom he makes himself out to be.

      This is the post that I put on Orkut a while back:
      ——
      Can anyone explain to me how you resolve the Sabina paradox? Namely, in the Unbearable Lightness of Being, Grand March part 10 Paragraph four, there is the following line:

      “She would unhesitatingly prefer life in a real Communist regime with all its persecution and meat queues. Life in the real Communist world was still livable. In the world of the Communist ideal made real, in that world of grinning idiots, she would have nothing to say, she would die of horror within a week.” (Page 253)

      Sabina is presumed to be an intelligent woman. So her thoughts are Kundera’s thoughts, and the above is as scathing and offensive to me as if he would claim that rape is ok. This turned what was before perceived as beautiful literature into nothing more than incoherent, even if occasionally correct, ramblings of a not-too-bright mind. By the time I finished the book, I was torn: on one hand I saw sheer generic stupidity in some parts, and the texture of life in others.

      Perhaps I missed something?
      ——

      • It’s not a paradox… It’s the concept of reality “under the banners of ideals” vs. living in “the ideals”. She prefers reality, the here and now…which fits well with her character.
        Why should she, an artist, a poet, a gypsy, an eccentric, want to be a part of the main stream, a standardized “unit” in the army of brain-washed “grinning idiots”? That’s exactly why she didn’t like marches and parades. Where’s the paradox???
        Am I the one missing something?

      • In other words, she prefers that which currently exists, the “imperfect state” of communism; she takes refuge in its imperfection. The the idea of communism as a “goal”-making everyone equally brainless, cookie-cutter, with nothing to say, is what nauseates her. She’s in NO WAY pro communism!!!

      • By the way, if Sabina’s views are Kundera’s, then you should know better than calling Kundera a communist! Read “the Joke” if you have any doubts. I’m gonna shut up now 🙂

      • I am not saying he is pro-communist. I am saying that he has fallen from an intellectual pedestal he was on until that paragraph because, at the risk of sounding too harsh, I am borderline offended by his complete disrespect for the concept of an individual.

        His claim that ‘it’s better to be living in reality while suffering under external oppression than in a kitsch’ seems completely disrespectful to people who had/have no choice but to live under oppression.

        Consequently, to take that a step further, Sabina’s blaming her misery on the fakeness around her is a valid position insofar as any position is to be treated with respect. But, for instance, yesterday I was put into an emotional tailspin by circumstances because a person whom I hold in high regard was hurt for whatever reason. And I could potentially blame it on her, on the people around me, on the screwed up American society. And that would be Kundera’s position and he would even be right to a certain extent – after all, if someone is offended in a circle of friends, it is their choice. But that line of reasoning is an easy way out for someone who wishes to wallow in self-pity (I do it all the time – hypocrisy all the way, baby). The reality is that it was my fault for not being perceptive enough and breaking through walls or augmenting my behavior in order to prevent the anger (or whatever it was) to begin with.

        And so, when Sabina/Kundera say that human rights abuse is better than white-picket fense fakeness, to me it is like making the claim that a doctor who works for money rather than inspiration should not practice, or remeniscent of Oliver Stone’s praise of Castro in “Looking for Fidel” (and yes, it was praise and not sarcasm – I heard him speak on the subject) – it seems to me moral demagogy.

      • ??…???? ??????? ????????????…???? ???? ???? ?????…
        ? ?????????? ??????-??? ?????? ????? ????????… ? ????? ????????????, ??? ??? ????? ?? ????? ??? ?????????? ?????????? ???????? ? ???????, ????????? ??? ????-???? ????? ??????????-????????????????? ??? (?????) ??????? ????? ? ???????????.
        I think you might be overreacting.

      • dubl’ 2

        Да…есть элемент напущенности…слух чуть чуть режет…
        В оправдание автору-тон голоса полон сарказма… и можно предположить, что эта фраза не более чем показатель Сабининого снобизма и эгоизма, поскольку для чего-либо более философски-глубокомысленного она (фраза) слишком пуста и категорична.
        I think you might be overreacting.

      • Re: dubl’ 2

        If it is indeed a joke (which I do not think it is, but then again, may be I am a bit thick), it is in terribly bad taste, because Sabina is the entire intelligentsia rather than its more eccentric slice.

        Moreover, then what of the dissidents who sacrificed their welfare in battling the system? The implications seem too morbid to be humorous.

      • Re: dubl’ 2

        I disagree. Sabina is a reprsentative of a certain personality type, not a social class! She is a spoiled brat, and has to be read as such. Some of her character traits are common intelligentsiya traits, such as exclusivity, creativity, need to stand out ( eccentricity) and freedom of expression, but again, she is a spoiled brat, too self-indulgent to make any sacrifices, and that’s why she is NOT a dissident, and shouldn’t be compared to one. Why does everything have to be so black and white? If Sabina is the “entire” intelligentsia, then which entire class is Thomas?

      • C’mon, she’ll die within a week because her ego will be crushed, she’ll have to be JUST a regular citizen… JUST like everyone else… the grounds for the statement are hardly political, they are personal, and have to do with the need to be different. Have you seen “Pretty in Pink”? The main character is very Sabina-like.

      • See, but now you are looking down on Sabina, whereas in the book I remember that she was one of the most respected characters. Or am I wrong?

      • No, there’s nothing wrong with being a spoiled brat. I know plenty of intriguing, admirable people with egos larger than life, and treat that as a simple fact. “Looking down” or “looking up” is judging. I’m more interested in discovering the nuances than putting characters into boxes and labeling them. In this particular instance, all the afore-mentioned paragraph signaled to me was that it is indeed important to Sabina to feel special and not to blend in.

      • To me, “spoiled brat” and “adult” are mutually exclusive. And since Kundera looks at her as an adult + associates himself with her, I do not see this as a joke. And so, if it’s not a joke, then it’s a crude statement or else Kundera himself is a spoiled brat – hence I made my conclusion about Kundera not being a great mind. He’s still a great writer and his characters may still be worthy of analysis, but his chapter about shit (same book) I then see not as some deep wisdom, but as crap eccentricity… :\ KnowhatImean?

      • ok… fine this is going nowhere.
        Listen, how do you know Jared Barell??? Wait… you both went to Rutgers… did you guys meet there?

      • LOL. Go ahead. I am right, but you can go ahead and pretend like it turned into a circular argument 😛

        Re: Jared – I’ll reply via e-mail.

      • who said circular? :))) it feels very linear… one way linear.. dead end linear 🙂

Leave a Reply

