Diary: a funny thing happened on the way to the Nuyorican…

Today I decided to check out a poetry slam at the Nuyorican with Pete. And all was good but did not quite go according to plan… I finally finished my part of the Combiner for work, Alex picked me up, and we headed home to do a touch-and-go to head to the Cafe. We get there, Alex splits to hang out with Ankur and Sarah, and, having realized that the show didn’t begin yet, decide to make a stop to chat with him… and then I was pleasantly distracted, taken in a geodisiac-type route (I have chosen myself, mind you!) to Bua, where all ended up in almost a debaucherous reunion – Alex, Sarah, Ankur, my cute, slightly off-the-hook-but-in-a-good-way-new-found company (qt. 2), Shira, Kate, (aha! Didn’t think you’d get mentioned, did cha? Remind me to send you the cat stuff if I don’t do it by Monday), and their friends, and then I would see people from my past in the faces of random passersby, the most disturbing of which was Liza’s Mexican boyfriend… basically, I was… felt… and indeed lived popularity itself. Social butterfly on crack.

This, however, did not last long. Forget Pete not! So, I said my good-byes and off back to the Cafe, only to find out Pete and friends are at a local bar (having enjoyed 12 slams, which were not getting more creative). So I hang with them for a little, finally actually make it to the Cafe and catch the last emotional stanza of a grown man talking about his anguish caused by emotional abuse engaged in by his father (which, at the same time, brings about the feelings of compassion and incredulity, as the poem was more like an unstructured emotional outpour of which I am not a fan – where is the beauty?), so I split… we take the taxi back, and here I am typing away.

The conlcusion? The hero didn’t get the girl(s), the hero didn’t get to hear much poetry (let alone something worth remembering), but, the hero is going to sleep relatively early, which gives hope for a fruitful day tomorrow. Perhaps even including some reading, which would be great considering the poor quality of this post… However, tomorrow is another day.

And distractions – do call or drop me a line. That role-reversal thing was too hilarious to do only once!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

